Finalists announced for first ever ASEAN Car of the Year Awards

Finalists announced for first ever ASEAN Car of the Year Awards

by -

The first ever ASEAN Car of the Year Awards, an unprecedented collaboration between motoring journalists from Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand, officially reveals its list of nominated finalists ahead of its announcement of winners scheduled to take plac in the fourth quarter of this year.

Nominations are spread among 22 different categories, ranging from car segments to MPVs and SUV as well as premium variants among others. All vehicles currently on sale were considered for nomination, and finalists were selected by a panel of judges from various motoring media publications across the three countries.

Logistics of organizing of the award are spearheaded by our peers from iCar Asia, but the panel of judges from Malaysia alone comprise of no less than 15 judges, 12 of them being automotive journalists hailing from publications not affiliated with the company.

The line-up of judges consist of Kon from, Chips Yap of Motor Trader, Gan Yong Li of Pandulaju,com, Denis Wong of, GC Mah and Matthew Tong of, Johan Izham and Qhalis Najmi of Traffic Mag Online, Kenneth Sow of Kensomuse, Tom Goh of Zerotohundred, Vishal of NST CBT, and Yap Kam Foo of Top Gear Malaysia‘s Chinese language edition. From the iCar team, Daniel Wong of Malaysian EVO, Hans Cheong of Live Life Drive, and Chris Aaron of complete the panel.

Overall scoring will not depend solely on input from the judging panel, however, as criteria such as after sales, buying satisfaction, depreciation, and reliability will also be taken into account. Scoring for these criteria will be based on feedback received from consumer surveys, financial industry partner Liberty Insurance Bhd, and warranty provider industry partner Opal Auto Mart. The judges themselves will score the vehicles based on value, safety, driving performance, and perceived quality.

Finalists for the inaugural 2015 ASEAN Car of the Year are as follows:

Budget Car of the Year
Perodua Axia
Proton Iriz
Kia Picanto

Compact Car of the Year
Honda Jazz
Mazda2 SkyActiv
Ford Fiesta

Family Car of the Year
Mazda3 SkyActiv
Toyota Corolla Altis
Honda Civic

Executive Car of the Year
Mazda6 SkyActiv
Toyota Camry
Ford Mondeo
Honda Accord

Family MPV of the Year
Mazda Biante
Proton Exora
Volkswagen CrossTouran

Premium MPV of the Year
Honda Odyssey
Volkswagen Sharan
Ford S-Max

Crossover of the Year
Honda HR-V
Peugeot 2008
Ford EcoSport
Mitsubishi ASX
Subaru XV

Compact SUV of the Year
Mazda CX-5
Ford Kuga
Honda CR-V

Family SUV of the Year
Isuzu MU-X
Hyundai Santa Fe
Nissan X-Trail

PickUp of the Year
Ford Ranger
Isuzu D-Max
Mitsubishi Triton

Coupe of the Year
BMW 2 Series
Peugeot RCZ
Hyundai Veloster
Subaru BRZ
Toyota 86
Volkswagen Scirocco

Premium Compact of the Year
Audi A3 Sedan
Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Volvo V40

Premium Family Car of the Year
BMW 3 Series
Mercedes-Benz C-Class
Lexus IS
Volvo V60

Premium Executive Car of the Year
Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Audi A6
BMW 5 Series

Premium Flagship of the Year
Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Audi A8
BMW 7 Series
Lexus LS

Premium Compact SUV of the Year
Audi Q3
Mercedes-Benz GLA
Range Rover Evoque

Premium Mid-Size SUV of the Year
Volvo XC60
Lexus NX
Porsche Macan

Premium SUV of the Year
Porsche Cayenne
Volvo XC90

Premium Coupe of the Year
BMW 4 Series
Lexus RC
Audi TT
Jaguar F-Type

Performance Car of the Year
Porsche 911
BMW i8
Mercedes-AMG GT
McLaren 650S

Grand Tourer of the Year
BMW 6 Series Gran Coupe
Porsche Panamera
Bentley Continental GT

Driver’s Car of the Year
Volkswagen Golf R
Renault Megane RS
Ford Fiesta ST


Leave a Reply