Welcome to Autoworld Forum !

Sign In or Register to gain full access to our forums. By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

Close
Photo

Wheel Cleaning With Brush

• Please log in to reply

irony

Posted 12 May 2011 - 10:54 AM

irony

Fast & Furious

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,675 posts
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie when it comes into detailing.. I plan to buy mr clean's wheel brush: http://www.apbabrand...iling-brush.jpg

It is safe to use on painted aftermarket wheels? it's factory painted in gunmetal, not painted at paint workshops smile_tongue.gif
But I'm afraid the brush's bristles will cause scratches to the paint.. any sifus could give comments?

and where to buy cheap claybar?

Thanks! smile_thumbup.gif

junbecks

Posted 12 May 2011 - 11:13 AM

junbecks

Taxi Driver

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 471 posts
hi there, welcome!

1. yes it will scratch
2. but can minimise scratches
3. thoroughly rinse the rim front and back first before you start
4. put your hand inside the rim to remove any stones or mud first before using the brush
5. rinse your brush very often
6. hope for the best.

cheap clay bar? Not sure, but PG to me is cheap, Carefour, tesco got. Should not mix 2 questions in 1 thread.
Washing a car should be an artform, not a chore.

WTB Any acidic wheel cleaner
[PM me if you want Iso-propyl Alcohol, IPA.]

tpl

Posted 12 May 2011 - 11:35 AM

tpl

N20 Soul

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,101 posts
use ur finger/palm to clean..
2012 NMT President

jonlsl

Posted 12 May 2011 - 11:37 AM

jonlsl

Fast & Furious

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,013 posts
QUOTE (irony @ May 12 2011, 10:54 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie when it comes into detailing.. I plan to buy mr clean's wheel brush: http://www.apbabrand...iling-brush.jpg

It is safe to use on painted aftermarket wheels? it's factory painted in gunmetal, not painted at paint workshops smile_tongue.gif